Book Review: ’99 Days’ by Katie Cotugno

June 21, 2015     Holly     Reviews

Book Review: ’99 Days’ by Katie Cotugno99 Days by Katie Cotugno
Published by Harper Collins on April 21st 2015
Genres: Friendship, Love & Romance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 8 hours 34 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
1 Stars

From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer—99 days—with the boy whose heart she broke and the boy she broke it for . . . his brother.Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that's how I know everyone still remembers everything. She has every right to hate me, of course: I broke Patrick Donnelly's heart the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. Now I'm serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college and be done.Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn't finished. I'm expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it's just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. "For what it's worth, Molly Barlow," he says, "I'm really glad you're back."Day 12: Gabe wouldn't quit till he got me to come to this party, and I'm surprised to find I'm actually having fun. I think he's about to kiss me—and that's when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who's supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who's never going to forgive me.

WARNING!! SPOILER ALERT!!

There are some books that I just can’t like, and sadly, 99 Days by Katie Cotugno is one of them.

And let me be very clear from the get go that there’s absolutely nothing wrong with Cotugno’s writing or storytelling abilities. In fact, I think she’s incredibly talented and would gladly read another novel written by her. What I have the problem with is the main character Molly.

It’s very clear from the beginning of the novel that Molly has made one or two mistakes in the year leading up to the start of her story. She had sex with her then boyfriend’s brother (obviously a big no-no) and was subsequently run out of town. That’s something that I can forgive in a character if they show obvious growth and overcomes the problem.

But no. Molly, instead of growing as a person, begins to date Brother #2 (that’s the one she had sex with), befriends the new girlfriend of Brother #1 (that’s the one she cheated on), begins to get her life together just a little, and then cheats on Brother #2 with Brother #1. How is that conducive to actually learning from your mistakes?!

And sure, Molly protests and bemoans about how wrong it is and how Brother #2 doesn’t deserve to be cheated on and blah blah blah. But it’s all meaningless and repetitive and there was just no possible way that I could ever root for her character.

Sadly, this made me not root for 99 Days either. I found myself just wanting it to be over already because I was so over the drama of everything when it was all so easily avoided. And turns out, Brother #1 and Brother #2 were jerks anyway, competing to see who could land the girl for good, despite how they end up feeling in the end. The only person I truly feel any sort of remorse for was Tess, who seriously did not deserve to have such terrible people be her boyfriend and friend. Ever. I’m glad she dumped them both.

Seriously though, what it came down to was that there was no way for me to relate to Molly in any capacity because I didn’t want to. Not when she kept repeating the same mistakes and wanted everyone else to tell her it would be okay and it wasn’t entirely her fault.

I say just save your money and watch a telenovela.

Leave a Reply